The history meme

Spreading the meme

serenity:~ andrewg$ history | awk ‘{a[$2]++} END {for(i in a)print a[i] ” ” i}’ | sort -rn | head -10
108 telnet
63 rscreen
43 ping
24 sudo
24 ssh
20 host
16 scp
16 more
14 ls
13 xdvi

Hm. I seem to be using the command line mainly as a gateway into remote systems – which reflects my average working day. The stray ‘xdvi’ is due to my recent heavy use of TextMate  to write a paper in LaTeX. Not sure why I’ve been using sudo so much on my Mac though.

Similarly, on my work Linux laptop:

andgal@nbgal185:~$ history | awk ‘{a[$2]++} END {for(i in a)print a[i] ” ” i}’ | sort -rn | head -10
68 rscreen
52 ping
45 host
36 sudo
35 rdesktop
32 xrandr
21 startmenu
20 ssh
18 ifconfig
15 telnet

rscreen is merely a wrapper for ssh:

function rscreen() { /usr/bin/ssh -t $1 ‘screen -dr || /usr/bin/screen || /bin/bash’; }

and startmenu is a cool but dodgy hack to get into my windows virtual machine:

alias startmenu=’nohup rdesktop -A -s “c:\program files\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe explorer.exe” 192.168.185.128 -u andgal -p xxxxxxxx&

xrandr reflects the fact that I have to configure my dual-screen setup by hand after each boot under Ubuntu 7.10, as the GUI configurator just Doesn’t Work. I had to test this many many times. Apparently the latest Ubuntu beta fixes most of these problems.

Leave a comment